Mississippi has very strict laws when it comes to driving under the influence, commonly referred to as DUI. For example, a DUI First Offense carries fines between $250.00 and $1,000.00, up to 48 hours in jail, possible required attendance of a victim impact panel, MASEP attendance and driver’s license suspension.
DUI Second Offense carries additional and/or enhanced penalties such as: fines from $600.00 to $1,500.00, up to 6 months in jail, and up to 6 months of community service and you will face a driver’s license supsension.
DUI Third Offence moves from the realm of misdemeanors and is a felony under Mississippi law. A DUI Third can carry of to 5 years imprisonment.